Olympiakos wins 38th league title - The Best from Greece

Follow bestfromgreece on Twitter

Posted on: 23/Mar/2011

Olympiakos clinched its 38th Greek league championship on Sunday by thrashing Aek 6-0 after scoring three goals in each half in front of a delirious home crowd of 33,000.

Rafik Djebbour, who joined Olympiakos from Aek in January after falling out with coach Manolo Jimenez, scored twice with Olof Mellberg, David Fuster, Kevin Mirallas and Iosif Holebas adding a goal apiece in Olympiakos' biggest victory of the season.

The victory also matched Olympiakos' biggest margin against AEK, set 30 years ago.

Olympiakos has ten points more than 2010 champion Panathinaikos with three rounds remaining. Panathinaikos beat Kerkyra 2-1 to move an unassailable 14 points clear of third-place Aek.

At Athens' Olympic Stadium, Panathinaikos opened the scoring in the 34th with a long swerving shot by Lazaros Christodoulopoulos.

Five minutes later, Djibril Cisse scored his league-leading 19th goal of the season with a shot from the edge of the area.

Kerkyra pulled one back in the 45th when Ieroklis Stoltidis pounced on a failed clearance by defender Loukas Vyntra.

Also, Aris beat last-place Panserraikos 3-1, Larissa and Ergotelis drew 3-3, Atromitos drew 2-2 with Paok, Iraklis snatched a 1-1 draw against Panionios in injury time, Volos beat Kavala 1-0 to climb to joint fourth with Paok and Xanthi defeated Asteras 1-0.

source: http://www.athensnews.gr/portal/24/39280

«« Let's get back to the News Overview

Greek Ferries

Flight from London (LCY) to Athens